Utterly Horrendous

Top 9 – Beatles night! [again]

Posted in American Idol by alaskansteph on April 7, 2010

Hi y’all, it’s Stephani!

So… after several mediocre episodes of season 9 on Idol, tonight was not at all terrible.

I hate that that’s the best thing I can say about tonight’s episode, but this season has thus far been a stunning display of mediocrity and Simon essentially phoning it in [knowing it’s his last season].

But then, the music of The Beatles is pretty epic. There are very few songs I can’t sing along to [one of which was sung tonight], and it’s the music of both my childhood and an entire generation [and then some]. I really didn’t have a lot of high hopes for tonight, honestly. But my expectations were definitely exceeded.

First, those in danger…

Aaron: The lineup did him no favors, and neither did “The Long and Winding Road“. I remember when David Archuleta did this one in season 7, when he was so far ahead of the pack it was ridiculous. It’s a slow song – not the kind you want to start off the night with. I respect his reasoning [he said it describes his journey on Idol] but I really think it will land him in the bottom 3 tomorrow. Compared to some of the showstoppers tonight, it was forgettable.

Here’s Archie’s superior version [not by much, though] –

Andrew: He’s very lucky he had a bit of a resurgence last week, because otherwise, this would have been the last straw for him. “Can’t Buy Me Love” is definitely one of The Beatles’ more recognizable and catchy songs, but it’s not the kind of song you sing to showcase your vocals. He was a one-trick pony long before this, but he may still have some goodwill leftover from last week. Not to mention those who want to do some Andrew-Lee ‘shipping.

Katie: As Top Idol calls her, “Smug Teen Witch” is doing herself no favors. She’s a former frontrunner who fell hard when her inexperience and sort of snooty attitude began to work against her. “Let It Be“, for her, was pageanty. The judges liked it, but I almost fell asleep, and I think her fanbase is wearing thin. The second spot is also known as the “death spot” for a reason – you’ve gotta really tear away from the pack to stand out. “Blackbird” would have been a far better choice for her.

For the record, here’s how you do “Let it Be” on Idol without sounding like a pageant princess –

And here’s why I think Katie would have done Blackbird better; her range is right on par with this –

Those who rocked the house down!

Crystal: Not that I really need to mention it, because there has yet to be a week where she’s NOT awesome, but this girl needs to win. I fear her plateauing at some point, but everything about her is amazing. Her choice, “Come Together“, was quite likely the best I’ve heard on Idol, and I LOVED Kris’s version last season. Like, LOVED – it was on repeat on my iPod for weeks. She brought some Bonnie Raitt to it, and how cool was the digiridoo guy? Mad props.

Lee: He was blessed with the pimp spot, and he seemed so much more confident this week. “Hey Jude” is such a crowd-pleasing power ballad, even if it usually stretches on until the end of time, but he got the mosh pit bimbos into it, and even randomly brought out a real Scottish bagpiper. That takes cojones. He’s on an upward streak.

Casey: I completely think this was his best performance. It was smoldering, bluesy, gritty – everything a real musician like him SHOULD be. Not to mention “Jealous Guy” one of The Beatles’ lesser-known songs… I’m gonna download it. He’s fantastic and I think he’s getting better and better.

Those I said “meh” to.

Siobhan: She’s a “peak too-sooner”. Her shriek should have been saved for the eleventh hour – because we’ve pretty much heard everything she can do now. Even though Adam pulled out the same big guns early on, he was still able to shock the masses – I don’t think Siobhan has the same ability. She did herself a favor tonight by singing “Across the Universe” all subdued, but all I could think was “I could not care less”.

Big Mike: I really do like this guy – in fact, he’s probably one of the most likeable guys we’ve had on the show – but I found his version of “Eleanor Rigby” to be boring. I really think I’m just spoiled by David Cook‘s version, but … yeah. I don’t care.

Oh, and here’s David’s amazing Season 7 version. Because it is superior.

Last but not least… Tim Urban.

Yeah, he’s in his own category, even though I thought it was a dick move when Randy did the same, but this kid is Teflon Tim for a reason. But “All My Loving” was absolutely the right song and based on his Teflon-ness and absolute adorableness… I think he’ll be okay.

Share your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

