Utterly Horrendous

Top 10 does R&B. AND Yes, Tim Urban is still on the show.

Posted in American Idol by thedavidlewexperience on March 31, 2010

"Im only here because my album comes out today"

David here! I gotta admit, my hectic schedule hasn’t allowed me to sit down and watch ANY Idol episodes since the first semi final rounds (which I watched from Seattle). We’ve been able to keep up through YouTube clips and other Idol sites (such topidolblog.com). Of course I’ve heard about all the hate with this seasons crop of “talent,” and it’s reminding me of Season 6 a lot. Tonights R&B themed episode is my first viewing of everyone on the big stage and i’ll be able to properly give my educated opinion on these people vying for Americas vote.

Usher is the mentor this week, and I’m sure he couldn’t be more happy. Luckily for American Idol his album release is on the same day of this show. And 30mil eyes on him on the day of his album drop doesn’t hurt. Based on the theme alone tonight, I had guessed that the standouts would be Michael Lynche, Andrew Garcia, Siobhan M. I also thought Crystal would have an okay night, nothing fancy but she’d definitely be safe. The ones in trouble would be Tim Urban (he’s in trouble every week. He’s the Abercrombie Sanjaya), and Didi Benami.

PERFORMANCE ROUND-UP

Siobhan In her pre-tape, she pulls off those big glasses without being annoying.  Her performance: Not good. Terrible arrangement. WOW. That was the worst I’ve heard her sing on this show.  Did I also hear FEEDBACK from the mic? The judges (except for Simon) give her a real pass. That’s impressive. The judge also spent a long time talking to her; almost consoling her. She looks visibly hurt. C’mon young lady its one performance. They’ve been pimping her for the longest time. She can stand to have one bad performance. She’s safe

Casey An average vocal, but the energy skyrocketed and it seemed like a party was going on at American Idol! I got a hint of Kris Allen in Casey as far as someone who I forgot was in the competition early on but crept into the finals with ease. Simon really showered him with praise this week which means he’ll be safe

Michael Normally I find “Big Mike” a little annoying. I can’t place my finger on it. But he just hasn’t been a favorite of mine, BUT, I actually liked Michael with the guitar in a quiet acoustic setting. Tonight he sang a fantastic song and really left an impression. Usher also gave him his stamp of approval. He’s Safe

Didi I definitely thought she was crying during her pre-tape with Usher because of her friend who had passed away, but I didn’t feel it necessary for Ryan to make her bring it up after her performance.  Im sure he was trying to earn her votes after getting a lukewarm response from the judges. But as far as her performance, I enjoyed a lot more than the judges did.  I think i’ll have to watch it again. I didn’t think it was perfect, but it wasn’t as bad as the judges made it out to be. She’s in trouble

Tim Urban Oh Tim. Im just gonna really skip you. You are a good looking Sanjaya, and a poor mans Ace Young. Actually the kid showed some personality tonight, but it’s still irritating to see the people that have left in the past in favor of him. There’s one every year (Kevin Covais, Sanjaya, Scott McIntyre, etc.) He’s forever in trouble

Andrew Garcia I will pretend to hide my favoritism to Andrew. I had seen his clips on YouTube months and months before Idol. So he’s the cool, hip and not annoying version of Von Smith. When I heard R&B was the theme, I KNEW in my bones that this was the week to bring him back. When I heard he was singing Chris Browns “Forever” I wasn’t sure at first, but once it started… OOH IT WAS GOOD! Andrew is BAAAAAAACK! Now all the Youtub’ers voting will be joined by the general populous and he is a favorite once again! Judges sang his praises. Kara almost passed out gushing in excitement. And it also marked the first time NO ONE MENTIONED STRAIGHT UP!! He’s Safe!

Katie Stevens HEY KATIE! THIS IS HOW YOU SING CHAIN OF FOOLS!

At least you are better than this guy!

Katie is the little contestant I forgot about. She’s the new Lisa Tucker (Except waaay less likable. When did that happen? I loved her with the whole grandma angle, then at one point I stopped rooting for her. Weird. Here she sang the extremely dated Chain of Fools. Could she have picked a song that’s more disconnected to todays music and has no baring on how she would do as an actual artist?? Don’t get me wrong, technically she sang it well. But it just seemed like a performance a girl would perform at a pageant or an Americas Got Talent audition. BTW I LOVE LOVE that over at TOPIDOLBLOG.COM refer to her as Smug Teen Witch!  But she’s safe

Lee Dewyze I knew he would have a good week, but damn! A great week indeed. I remember from the early rounds, he’s had this soulful edge to his voice. A bit Black Key mixed with some Kings of Leon… throw in some David Cook for measure. This kid doesn’t have star quality stage presence yet. But he will in a few weeks. He’s going to blow everyone out of the water again and have his “moment” He’s so safe and he doesn’t even know it

Crystal B is looking more beautiful than she has on the show. She dressed up for R&B week. AND she brought out the piano. This chick is as polished as they come. She could put on an album now. Which is why i’m predicting she will be going home in the Overly Talented/Diva/Not attractive 3rd place spot. I’m predicting it now. Oh but I do love her. She hasn’t bored me yet, and I could watch her performances over and over. So she’s safe.

Aaron Archul… oops. Its not the kids’ fault that he bares a resemblance in talent, age and bland song choice. His version pales in every way to any version every sung besides this guy.

Another vanilla performance from Aaron. PALES…PALES in comparison to Kris Allens. AND WHO REMEMBERS WILL YOUNG singing this on Pop Idol way back when!!

I wish he would have waited 2 or 3 years before getting on the show. But what do I know? He’s safe

Well, that was that. I definitely feel that this season is inferior to the last 2 amazing seasons we had (minus a few contestants…) but I still think we got some great talents with some great moments to come!

Who is in trouble?! Bottom 3:

Tim Urban

Didi Benami

Siobhan Magnus

WHO IS GOING HOME?!

Tim Urban. Its been fun and its been real. But it ain’t been real fun. see you on next season of Glee.

(Now that I’ve said it, I feel like  he’ll be safe. Only time will tell.)


David Out.

Leave a Reply

